DEVIL’S POCKET Wins the Bram Stoker Award!

May 18, 2016

Second Stoker

I’m thrilled and honored that Devil’s Pocket won the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel.

It all went down last weekend in Vegas at StokerCon. I was in attendance, and the moment was made even more special by the category presenters, Nancy Holder and R.L. Stine.

In the wake of my acceptance speech with joked about the fact that my dog Pete had destroyed my finalist certificate, emcee Jeff Strand produced a new certificate, then proceeded to eat it on stage. Jeff is a hilarious and a great writer. Turns out he does a pretty good border collie impression, too. It was a great moment and earned a ton of laughs, and Jeff even handed me a whole certificate in the end. All is well.

Thank you to everyone who has read and talked about my books, and especially to the voting members of the HWA. It’s amazing to receive back-to-back Stoker Awards, and they’ll go some distance in helping me to battle the self-doubt that’s always nipping at my heels as I write the next one.


8 thoughts on “DEVIL’S POCKET Wins the Bram Stoker Award!
  1. I love both books in the Devil’s Pocket series, but I need another one! Please tell me you’re writing a third book in this series! These are fantastic books and you ended the second one perfectly for another one! Thanks for writing them!!

    1. Thanks, Jayme, and sorry for the slow response. I haven’t been keeping up with the site lately. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the books. I’d love to write a third, but I won’t be getting to it anytime soon. I have a new book, THE POINT, coming out this summer. Take care!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Basic HTML tags are allowed.


Sign up for the John Dixon Newsletter