Books

The Point

Buy the Book

The Point

They made her a weapon. She chose to be a hero.

Scarlett Winter has always been an outsider, and not only because she’s a hardcore daredevil and born troublemaker—she has been hiding superhuman powers she doesn’t yet understand. Now she’s been recruited by a secret West Point unit for cadets with extraordinary abilities. Scarlett and her fellow students are learning to hone their skills, from telekinetic combat to running recon missions through strangers’ dreamscapes. At The Point, Scarlett discovers that she may be the most powerful cadet of all. With the power to control pure energy, she’s a human nuclear bomb—and she’s not sure she can control her powers much longer.

Even in this army of outsiders, Scarlett feels like a misfit all over again, but when a threat that endangers her fellow students arises from the school’s dark past, duty calls and Scarlett must make a choice between being herself and becoming something even greater: a hero.

Warning: Unlike my previous books, this one is not written for young adults. The characters are in their late teens and early twenties, so there’s sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll. And cursing. And violence. Not to mention a creepy girl who can enter dreams, another creepy girl who can set people afire with her mind, and a bunch of lame “bro” jokes. Maybe this isn’t the greatest sales pitch in the world, but I don’t want you buying this one, expecting another clean read. 

Praise

“[A] rousing mash-up of military SF thriller and paranormal adventure . . . Scarlett is a resourceful and endearing heroine.”
Publishers Weekly

“This ‘school for superheroes’ sci-fi action thriller moves faster than a speeding bullet.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A thrilling mix of SF and coming-of-age story.”
Booklist

“An exciting military SF adventure . . . This action-packed military thriller keeps a fast pace and will appeal to fans of X-Men’s Charles Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and TV military series such as The Unit and SEAL Team.”
Library Journal

Sign up for the John Dixon Newsletter